House & Garden Sites Get Most Share, But Martha Stewart Gets Most Time

House & Garden Sites Get Most Share, But Martha Stewart Gets Most Time

The market leader for House & Garden is Home Depot which accounted for 9% share of visits made to US House and Garden sites in the week ending May 3rd, followed closely by Lowes Home Improvement Warehouse with 8%. However, people spent the longest time at the website of the much-maligned diva of home improvement, Martha Stewart. US Internet users spent an average time of close to ten minutes on the site-almost three minutes more than the average for sites in this category.

Hitwise reports that US Internet users have been flocking to Real Estate, Shopping & Classifieds and House & Garden websites in recent weeks in preparation for new home purchases and a springtime fueled by "do it yourself" home improvements.

Traffic to the Hitwise Real Estate industry category has increased by 8% in the last month, and a staggering 34% since January. Furthermore, whether renovating a new home, or fixing up a previously purchased home, consumers have also been increasingly visiting House & Garden websites.

The Homestore Network continues to command the lion's share of the traffic to Real Estate sites, with its Realtor.com property leading the competition in all metrics including visits, pages viewed and average session time.

During this period, women were the dominant gender visiting Real Estate and House & Garden sites. Fifty-five percent of all visits to the Real Estate industry category were women and an even greater percentage (60%) made up visits to House & Garden.

Top 10 US Real Estate sites week ending May 3rd (Visits)

Rank Name Domain
1 Realtor.com www.realtor.com
2 Yahoo! Real Estate realestate.yahoo.com
3 Home Advisor.com www.homeadvisor.com
4 Agent Connect.com www.agentconnect.com
5 US Dep't of HUD www.hud.gov
6 Spring Street www.springstreet.com
7 Apartments.com www.apartments.com
8 Century 21 Real Estate www.century21.com
9 Homegain www.homegain.com
10 Rent.com www.rent.com

Top 10 US House & Garden sites week ending May 3rd (Visits).

Rank Name Domain
1 Home Depot www.homedepot.com
2 Lowe's Home Improvement www.lowes.com
3 All Posters www.allposters.com
4 AHA Membership www.ahamembership.com
5 Bed Bath & Beyond www.bedbathandbeyond.com
6 Complete Home www.completehome.com
7 Great USA Flags www.greatusaflags.com
8 Better Homes & Gardens www.bhg.com
9 Martha Stewart www.marthastewart.com
10 Pottery Barn www.potterybarn.com

Source: Hitwise

More information available at Hitwise.

Recommend (1) Print RSS