Microsoft's Rik van der Kooi Appointed Chairman, IAB Board Of Directors

The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) kicked off its leadership Summit Sunday evening, announcing the appointment of Rik van der Kooi, Microsoft Advertising vice president, to chairman of the IAB board of directors. The announcement was made at the IAB Leadership Summit in Phoenix. 

Van der Kooi has served as the board’s vice chairman since February 2018. Troy Young, president of Hearst Magazines, was elected to -- and now will serve as -- the 2019 vice chairman.

“For over 20 years, IAB has led and strengthened our industry through a series of major transformations, from the rise of programmatic to the explosion of mobile, rich media and video advertising,” stated van der Kooi. “I’m thrilled to continue to build on this legacy. As Chairman of the IAB Board of Directors, I look forward to working closely with our members as we navigate the challenges and opportunities of the growing direct brand economy, the rise of OTT, and all that lies ahead.”



On Sunday the IAB also said it has expanded its membership to include brands. The idea is to add a different perspective. By adding brand executives to their membership, IAB will now represent the full spectrum of companies from across digital media and marketing.  

IAB’s new board member roster features 13 new representatives, including the first IAB board member from a brand, Jesse Horwitz, co-founder and co-CEO at the direct-to-consumer contact lens company Hubble, the first brand member to join the board.

New members of the IAB Board of Directors also include:

  • Brad Bender, vice president – product management, Google Inc.
  • Krishan Bhatia, executive vice president – business operations & strategy, NBC Universal
  • Gina Garrubbo, president and CEO, National Public Media
  • Jeremi Gorman, chief business officer, Snap Inc.
  • Steve Horowitz, president, Ziff Davis
  • Jesse Horwitz, co-founder and Co-CEO, Hubble
  • Julie Jacobs, general counsel, Verizon Media
  • Craig Kostelic, chief business officer – Media and Partnerships, Conde Nast
  • Danielle Lee, global vice president – Partner Solutions, Spotify
  • Shailesh Prakash, CIO and vice president of digital product development, The Washington Post
  • Seb Tomich, global head of advertising – marketing solutions, The New York Times
  • Abbey Thomas, CMO, Tremor Video DSP
  • Jon Werther, president, Meredith National Media Group

The complete list can be found here.

Next story loading loading..