Yahoo is closing down its Yahoo Groups feature, effective Oct. 28. Users will no longer be able to upload content as of that date.
Worse, for enthusiasts, the Verizon unit will remove all content for good on Dec. 14. Users will have to download it or lose it.
Yahoo account holders are advised to save content they want to keep “right from the Yahoo Groups” site, or to download it via the Privacy Dashboard.
Disappearing features will include email updates, attachments and the calendar, among others.
However, consumers can still communicate with their groups via email, the company says.
Not that the site will disappear.
“The Yahoo Groups site will continue to exist, however, all public groups will be made private or restricted,” Yahoo says.
It adds, “Any new group members will need to request an invite or be invited by an admin. Admins will still be able to manage various group settings, though some functionality will be limited.”
Observers note that Yahoo Groups has outlived its time.
“The platform exists mostly as a piece of history at this point; though there are still new posts appearing in groups, many have gravitated to more modern platforms with better support for mobile and a greater selection of features,” Slash Gear writes.