YouTube TV To Drop Sinclair's Fox Regional Sports Networks

YouTube TV subscribers will lose 19 Fox regional sports networks owned by Sinclair Media as of October 1, as a result of failed renewal negotiations between YouTube parent Google and Sinclair.

In its note notifying subscribers, YouTube TV pointed out that, earlier this year, it had negotiated an extension deal.

In that deal, which ended a blackout, YouTube TV agreed to carry 19 of Sinclair’s 21 Fox Sports regional networks in “select areas.” But YouTube dropped networks in the country’s two biggest markets, Los Angeles and New York, as well as the New York Yankees’ YES Network, in which Sinclair owns a stake.

The extension ran out following the end of the Major League Baseball, National Basketball Association and National Hockey League regular seasons.

YouTube TV’s new message also tells subscribers that they will lose access to the Fox RSNs’ recordings of its sports programs.

It adds that the service hopes to bring back the Fox RSNs “in the future.”

The affected RSNs are Fox Sports Arizona, Fox Sports Carolinas, Fox Sports Detroit, Fox Sports Florida, Fox Sports Indiana, Fox Sports Kansas City, Fox Sports Midwest, Fox Sports New Orleans, Fox Sports North, Fox Sports Ohio, Fox Sports Oklahoma, Fox Sports San Diego, Fox Sports South, Fox Sports Southeast, Fox Sports Southwest, Fox Sports Sun, Fox Sports Tennessee, Fox Sports Wisconsin and SportsTime Ohio.

Next story loading loading..