How The MMA Became Known As The 'Marketers' Mobile Association'

Many ad trade associations have dropped their proper names in favor of their acronyms, but if the MMA were going to spell its out today it might be better known as the “Marketers’ Mobile Association” rather than the “Mobile Marketing Association” it originally stood for.

That’s because it continues to change the composition of its boards from the supply-side mobile media sellers and platforms to the demand-side. You know: marketers, if not agencies.

This week, the MMA added CMOs of SAP, RB, Hyundai, Adobe, Peloton, Western Union, Salesforce, Uber, Walgreens Boots Alliance, Samsung and Walmart, and the CROs from Twitter and Roku to its board, bringing to 35 the number of marketing executives represented on it. 

That’s up from 10 years ago, when only one marketer was represented on the MMA board. Now its composition of marketers far outweighs the number of suppliers on the board, sending a powerful signal that the the association may have begun life representing the interests of vendors, but it’s now squarely focused on solving the problems of marketers, albeit with mobile marketing and media solutions.

“It’s been a main mission of mine since taking over leadership of MMA in 2010 to boost our board’s ranks with the best and brightest CMOs from all corners of the marketing, media and tech landscape,” MMA CEO Greg Stuart noted, reaffirming a long-term goal of the trade association chief.

New MMA Global Board Members:

Alicia Tillman, Global Chief Marketing Officer, SAP Global Marketing Inc.

Amardeep Kahlon, VP, General Manager, US Nutrition, RB

Angela Zepeda, Chief Marketing Officer, Hyundai Motor America

Bob Lord, SVP, IBM, Cognitive Applications, Blockchain and Ecosystems, IBM

Dara Treseder, SVP, Head of Global Marketing & Communications, Peloton

Jay Jaffin, Chief Marketing and Digital Officer, Western Union

Thomas Ranese, VP, Global Marketing, Uber

Vineet Mehra, Global Chief Marketing Officer, Walgreens Boots Alliance and Chief Customer Officer, Walgreens

Wanda Young, Chief Marketing Officer, Samsung

William White, Chief Marketing Officer, Walmart Inc.

Ann Lewnes, EVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Adobe Systems Incorporated

Elizabeth Herbst-Brady, VP, Head of North American Sales & Global Client Solutions, Verizon Media

Sarah Personette, VP, Global Client Solutions, Twitter

Scott Rosenberg, SVP & GM Platform Business, Roku

Stephanie Buscemi, EVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Salesforce

Mary Hines Droesch, Chief Marketing Officer U.S., Citi

Jon Kaplan, Chief Revenue Officer, Pinterest


Re-elected MMA Board Members:

Allan Thygesen, President, Americas, Google

John Trimble, Chief Advertising Revenue Officer, SXM

Linda Yaccarino, Chairman, Global Advertising and Client Partnership, NBCUniversal


Existing MMA Board Members whose terms were not up for re-election:

Chair: Deborah Wahl, Global Chief Marketing Officer, General Motors

Chair Secretary: Carolyn Everson, VP, Global Marketing Solutions, Facebook

Chair Emeritus: Luis Di Como, EVP, Global Media, Unilever PLC

Chair Emeritus: Karin Timpone, Global Marketing Officer, formerly Marriott

Chair Emeritus: John Costello, President, Global Marketing & Innovation, formerly Dunkin’

Treasurer: Stephen McCarthy, President & CEO, GroundTruth

Ayesha Gilarde, Chief Marketing Officer, Match

Jill Baskin, Chief Marketing Officer, The Hershey Company

Joanna Lu, VP of Marketing, Greater China and Korea, The Coca-Cola Co.

Kellyn Kenny, Global Chief Marketing Officer, formerly Hilton Worldwide

Lynne Biggar, EVP, Chief Marketing & Communications Officer, VISA

Telisa Yancy, Chief Operating Officer, American Family Insurance

Jodi Allen, EVP and Chief Marketing Officer, formerly Hertz

Rebecca Messina, Global Chief Marketing Officer, formerly Uber

Antonio Tomarchio, CEO & Founder, Cuebiq

Charles Manning, President & CEO, Kochava

Greg Glenday, CEO, Lightbox

Jack Philbin, Co-Founder & CEO, Vibes

Jeff Lucas, VP of North America Sales & Global Client Solutions, formerly Verizon Media

Jeremi Gorman, Chief Business Officer, Snap Inc.

Rita Ferro, President, Disney Advertising Sales, The Walt Disney Company

Ted Prince, President, Analytic Solutions, Neustar

Janet Balis, Americas Customer and Growth Market Leader and Marketing Practice Leader, EY

Suzy Deering, Global Chief Marketing Officer, formerly eBay Inc.

Next story loading loading..