Former FCC Chairs Join Task Force Calling For New Digital Kids Initiative

  • January 24, 2008
The Digital Kids Task Force, a group that will organize a national campaign to fund efforts aimed at helping parents and teachers better manage the growing impact of digital media on kids and teens, launched Wednesday.

The group, led by Common Sense Media, includes three former FCC chairmen and media industry executives and educators from across the country. The founding members of the Digital Kids Task Force include three former FCC chairmen: Michael Powell, William E. Kennard, and Newton Minow.

The announcement coincides with the FCC's auction of broadcast spectra that will be vacated by analog broadcasters as they convert to digital signals. The auction, which is expected to raise billions of dollars through the sale of public airwaves, will allow companies to offer more wireless Internet access to consumers, including kids.

--Tanya Irwin

Next story loading loading..