OMMA Unveils Award Winners, First All-Women Jury Too

OMMA's first-ever all-female jury women took the stage Monday night to present the 8th Annual OMMA Awards in New York City. In another first, each of the jurors co-presented with young female proteges, including new industry pros and recent college graduates looking to enter the advertising industry.

The jury comprised 48 women, all top top executives from publishing, marketing, and top agencies. Among the industry leaders, innovators, entrepreneurs and rising stars on the jury panel were Arianna Huffington; Abigail Marks, Ogilvy Entertainment; Barbara Liss, Quaker Foods; Janet Balis; Kristine Welker, Hearst; Lisa Cochrane, Allstate; Monique Nelson, Uniworld Group.

The all-female jury was formed as a response to the apparent gender disparity at Cannes and other industry award shows across the board, according to Ken Fadner, CEO of MediaPost, which publishes OMMA and produces the OMMA Awards.



“We realize our industry has a long way to go in terms of equality and this year's jury represents our commitment and ongoing efforts to change this,” Fadner stated.

The awards ceremony also put a on the best-of-the-best in Web sites, campaigns and creative, with  65 category winners  and “Best in Show” picks, drawn from 195 finalists. 

This year's OMMA Awards winners faced the largest-ever field of entries, said Fadner. “The quality of entries was stronger than ever, making selecting the finalists and winners exceedingly difficult.” Fadner added that there was also a record number of entries for 2013. “It's only fitting for an industry that is continually growing and innovating.” 

View finalists and winners.

Next story loading loading..