DMA Expands Email Arm, Unveils New Leadership Committee

The Direct Marketing Association (DMA) has unveiled a new leadership team for the Email Experience Council (eec), the email marketing branch of the professional marketing community.

Dennis Dayman, chief privacy and security officer at Return Path, and Len Shneyder, vice president of industry relations at SparkPost, have been elected as the eec’s Member Advisory Committee Chair and vice chair, respectively.

Originally founded in 1917, the DMA has grown to become a leader in advocating for the responsible use of data in marketing today. The eec provides education and best practice tips to email marketers and sponsors a host of networking opportunities throughout the year.

 “Our annual conference, meetups, webinars, and online resources aim to foster a community of experts seeking to drive excellence and create opportunities for growth in the industry,” writes Dayman in a blog post announcing the news online.



 “The biggest challenge today is creating content that’s as regular as a heartbeat, and as personal as a thumbprint,” says Shneyder about the challenges email marketers face today. He asserts that there are still data silos to tear down, and believes the eec can help marketers make better decisions based on real data.

“I want to help make the EEC a resource that promotes best practices, helps newly minted marketers hit the ground running, and unearths success stories in our industry that highlight the power of the channel,” says Shneyder. “The EEC can be different things to different people, for me it’s a place to learn, meet new people, be delighted in a genuine, not contrived sense of the word, at the cool things my colleagues are doing on a day in and day out basis, and grow among a community of people whose daily job it is to connect individuals and deliver unique experiences.”

Five email marketing experts have also been added to the eec’s Member Advisory Committee, including Heather Curcio, email channel marketing manager of digital member experience at AARP; Will Devlin, director of marketing at MessageGears; Jeanne Jennings, partner at CohereOne; Justine Jordan, vice president of marketing at Litmus and Alyssa Nahatis, director of deliverability and global services at Adobe.

Next story loading loading..